Minnesota is a no-fault state, so motorists are required to have personal injury protection insurance to cover their medical costs, regardless of who’s at fault. These no-fault laws also limit motorists’ rights to sue following a collision. Motorists may only sue if the resulting injuries are permanent, the medical costs exceed $4,000 or the crash causes disfigurement or a disability that lasts over 60 days. The no-fault law in Minnesota does not apply to property damage.
No-fault insurance in Minnesota
The PIP insurance covers the motorist’s medical costs and other resulting costs up to the policy limits regardless of who’s at fault. Aside from medical bills, the PIP covers lost wages, replacement services like housekeeping, and funeral expenses under $2,000. The minimum coverage provides $20,000 for medical expenses and $20,000 for non-medical costs. The PIP and no-fault laws do not apply to injuries resulting from a motorcycle accident.
More on no-fault insurance in MN
The $40,000 per person PIP coverage is just one of several insurance requirements in Minnesota. The modified comparative negligence system only allows motorists to sue if the motorist is less than 51% at fault. The damages collected from motor vehicle accidents are calculated as the differential taken from the percentage of fault attributed to the plaintiff. If the complainant is 40% at fault, they would only be eligible to collect 60% of the potential damages.
After an accident, check everyone for injuries and call 911 for assistance from a safe location. Document the incident, exchange information and contact your insurer while the police are en route. Use the mobile app to file a claim while waiting at the accident scene. After providing the insurer with the appropriate information and initiating the claims process, arrange to have an adjuster come to inspect the damages.